UNITWIN / UNESCO Chairs Programme

Launched in 1992, the UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Programme promotes international inter-university cooperation and networking to enhance institutional capacities through knowledge sharing and collaborative work.

The Programme supports the establishment of UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks in key priority areas related to UNESCO’s fields of competence – i.e. in education, the natural and social sciences, culture and communication.

Today, the Programme involves over 796 institutions in 132 countries. 

The UNESCO Janusz Korczak Chair was established in October 2004, under the agreement concluded between the UNESCO – United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization and The Maria Grzegorzewska Academy of Special Education  in Warsaw.

More information